inspiration from a small farm with a big heart

Stories are Gifts

I’ve been thinking about New Years Resolutions.  I normally don’t make any because I figure I do not have enough self control to keep them.  But this year there is something that has been on my heart for a while.  A desire that is deep within me.  Sharing stories.

I’ve always been hesitant to share my stories.  I suppose because I  feel self centered, prideful or self consumed.  The more I get to know myself, God and others I realize that our stories are what we have to give each other.  I’ve shared small bits and pieces of our lives here in the past and will often see someone out in “the real world” who thanks me for my story.  It touched their life because they have stories too.

So with peace in my heart and an honest sincerity I will begin to share my stories.  With anyone who comes here to read them.  For my children when they get old enough to read them, or care enough to read them.

Without apologies.  No more regrets.  Not a drop of guilt from sharing too much.

2 responses

  1. Claudia

    Michelle,
    I cannot wait to continue reading your stories. You do inspire me, and I am sure many others, more than you realize. And, what a great recording this will be for your children once they start their own “gardens”.

    We made a list of family resolutions this morning all centering around being more loving. I hope these are resolutions we can keep, but know we will have many struggles doing so :). My plan is to review our list each night as a family and evaluate how well we have done, applaud our successes and discuss how we can improve on our lapses.

    I hope you all have a wonderful new year!
    Claudia

    January 1, 2011 at 5:01 pm

  2. The story you wrote sometime ago about your grandmother was a good example of family story, and it was well done, I might add.

    I’ll be watching for more stories.

    from a fellow writer

    February 10, 2011 at 3:15 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.