inspiration from a small farm with a big heart

Serve God, Save the Planet

I have long been a nature lover and thought of myself as an “environmentally friendly” person.  I put plastic and alluminum in recycling containers, purchase recycleable materials and would never litter.  I spent several years in the landscape industry and half of our job was picking up the litter others threw out their windows.  But I have recently felt very convicted by God to take an inventory of my habits and lifestyle choices that effect the environment.  I am doing this within my home and business.  Many of you know that I have recently become affiliated with Organic Bouquet and Blumebox.  Both of which are environmentally friendly companies.  I have decided that if I am going to have the privilege of using my God given talents to help support my family I need to be as responsible as possible.

HeaderAlong came Serve God Save the Planetby J. Matthew Sleeth, MD.  This is one of the first books I have found that is a collection of personal accountability to God and our Earth and not directed at Politicial change.  There are a lot of things I am doing right, many changes I have already made, several changes I am going to make and a few that I am praying God will give me the willpower and courage to change.

Serve God, Save the Planet addresses the questions:

  • How can I live a more godly, equitable, and meaningful life?
  • How can I help people today and in the future?
  • How can I be less materialistic?
  • How can I live a more charitable life?
  • What would happen if I led a slower-paced existence? 

Domino Magazine has compiled a great list of eco-friendly companies.  Check it out here.

Leave a Reply

