inspiration from a small farm with a big heart

5 Wonderful Years

Nathan and I were married five years ago in a simple, outdoor ceremony surrounded by our closest family and friends.  People ask me all the time what I would do differently since I am so involved in weddings on a day to day basis.  But the truth is I really loved my wedding and wouldn’t change anything.  I wish I would have had the experience I have now since I did all of the flowers myself.  Nathan and I were engaged for about 6 months and we planned everything together.  We would go antique shopping to find the right tables, containers, and accents for the day.  Our alter was antique table he picked up at an auction.  Our programs were placed in an old sewing machine drawer.  And fresh apples and salad were served in a wooden dough bowl we found in Gatlinburg.  My dress was an antique on display in a wedding shop.  Our day was perfect, although a little hot and we were married in on the farm we had just purchased.  We have been through a lot in the last five years:  2 children, job changes, good times and bad.  But I honestly believe that God brought us together and has an even greater plan for our lives together.  Can’t wait to see what’s next!  I wanted to share a few photos from our day and apologize for the scanned quality.  It was the day’s before digital proofs!!

Our_wedding_2_2

Our_wedding_6

My bouquet was cream roses, lisianthus, italian ruscus and wheat.  The bridesmaids carried dark red roses and green hydrangeas.  The centerpieces were tin buckets filled with wheat and surrounded by apples filled with votives, roses and greenery.  I purchased all of my flowers at Smith and Rogers in Nashville.  This is a great place for those wanting to create their own floral designs.  My mother in law made our cake and we decorated it with greenery and caramalized apples.  Our guests were given individual pumpkin breads and a jar of apple butter as favors.  And my dog Gizmo was the flower girl.  She is now 15 years old and although a little slower she is still going strong.

 

 

Leave a Reply

