inspiration from a small farm with a big heart

Not your Mama’s Cloth Diapers

cloth-diapers-lineI have always been drawn to things of the past. Antique’s, old books, shows on TV about history (especially the early 1900’s). And so as I started to right this post about cloth diapering I started to wonder about this new surge in cloth diapering that is considered a “new” practice. Which in fact is a very old, traditional way of doing things. Cloth diapers have come a long way-even the past couple of years. The main reason we have choosen cloth diapering is to prevent the thousands of pounds of extra waste in our landfills from diapering three kids. But an added benefit is how cute they are.

And for the frugal shoppers out there you can even make money with cloth diapers. I buy low and sell high (as may of you know from my kids clothing purchases) so I have actually made money from cloth diapering.

Here is a short tutorial for anyone interested in getting started.

 

The first step is to decide what type of diaper you are wanting to use. I actually use a combination of a few differen types.

 

All in One’s-these are the easiest most “disposeable like” diapers. They either velcro or snap on just like a sposie. You wash the entire diaper after each use and then re-use.

Pocket Diapers-these are very similar to all-in-one’s except they have a pocket so you can stuff it at nap or bedtime for more absorbancy.

Fitted Diapers and Wraps-the fitted part of the diaper goes on similar to the all-in-one but requires a wrap or cover. The benefit is great absorbancy from the fitted and the wrap can be used over and over again without washing.

Pre-folds or flatsthese are your grandma’s diapers. There are dozens of different fold techniques and you use a pin or snappi to hold it on. These diapers require a wrap or cover also. They are also the most econimical.

Wool-this is a great option for the winter months. Wool is very absorbable and is used just like a wrap over a fitted diaper, prefold or flat. Watch out because it can become very addicting!

 

My Diaper Stash

Elizabeth is now potty trained so she is only using fitteds and wraps or pocket diapers at nighttime. But until recently we also used lots of flats with wraps just because they are so economical. And the wraps are so cute!!!

For the newborn joining our family soon I have already started to stock up on fitteds, wraps, flats and all-in-one’s.

 

Where to get the deals

Diaper Swappers

Diaper Trader’s

BabyCenter’s Thursday Swap

Swaddlebee’s Outlet

 

Washing Instructions

For newborns and pee only diapers I just rinse them in a cold water cycle. For older babies I will plop the poop (gross sorry) into the potty and then do a rince cycle. Then I wash the diapers with washing soda, a few sprays of simple green and a capful of bleach. This has always worked for me but there are lots of washing methods available on the net.

 

Storing between loads

Wetbags are a great way to store soiled diapers. Once the wetbag is filled you just put the entire thing including the bab into the washing machine.

 

Going out

I started out using sposies when we went places. But small wetbags make it very possible for you to store soiled diapers in your diaper bag until you get home. Just make sure that anyone who might be changing your child know’s they are cloth diapered. I always use my easiest diapers when going to church or play dates to that no one has to “figure it out the hard way”.

 

Other tips and advice

Prefold Photo Tutorial

Diapers from work at home mom’s

Diapers by Etsy

5 responses

  1. Pingback: Living with Less « be Fresh be Simple

  2. This is hilarious. I just found this blog post. When I first saw it, I laughed because I thought you had borrowed the title from me (http://kickert.info/blog/2009/06/21/not-your-daddys-diapers/). But then I realized you wrote it 6 months before me.

    Great minds think alike.

    August 3, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    • freshfloralart

      Very funny! Thought the same thing when I saw your post (great post by the way!). I had originally planned on taking photos of lilah with some of her more fun cloth diapers, but that never happened!

      August 3, 2009 at 11:04 pm

  3. Pingback: Are Cloth Diapers Really A Savings? « Sweet Sprouts Birth Services

  4. Hello, I came across your blog looking for images. I just posted an article about deciding to make the switch from disposables to cloth. I would love it if you were able to go and check it out. Please let me know what you think.

    I did read your article and it makes it all the more tempting, but I have no idea what you’re talking about when you say fitteds and flats.

    May 1, 2010 at 2:51 am

Leave a Reply

