inspiration from a small farm with a big heart

3

There are two things I am loving right now.  Orchids & Coffee.  Orchids are the new rose~just pick up any floral design magazine or book and you will see what I mean.  They come in a variety of colors and sizes.  The are easy to use in bouquets, centerpieces, boutonierres and of course the traditional leis.  And they stay fresh even in harsh circumstances, such as sweating men in black tuxedos standing on the pavement in 90 degrees smoking a cigar!  If you are a wedding florist you know exactly what I am talking about.  This particular variety is a large burgandy cymbidium.  I also love greenlight pink,gold/bronze, and white.

Flora09

The second thing I am really loving now is coffee.  When the kids get settled down for their nap I make me a cup of coffee~really good coffee.  It’s my time during the day when I can relax and read or work on the computer.  And the caffeine helps me get through the rest of the afternoon.  Coffee beans were used as inspiration for this centerpiece.  A thin slice of floral foam was put in the middle of therectangle glass vase.  Coffee beans were poured in around the foam and I must say that they smelled heavenly!  The orchids were placed one by one into the foam.  Another element that really worked in this photo is the napkins in the glasses.  Here is an excellent napkin folding source complete with videos.  This is a centerpiece the groom will love too.

Photography by Clinton Lewis

Leave a Reply

